Natural Good Health - The Seven Chakras


Our bodies are composed of a network of energy channels called Nadis that promote healing, by directing energy to the Chakras (energy centres).  The seven major Chakras consist of the Crown, Third Eye (Brow), Throat, Heart, Stomach (Solar Plexus), Sacral (Navel) and Base (Root) Chakras, which all deal with certain areas of our bodies, and all need to be balanced to maintain Natural Good Health.

The seven major Chakras are often grouped into three sections; the Upper Chakras, the Heart Chakra, and the Lower Chakras.

Upper Chakras
The Upper Chakras deal with our mental processes, our creative ability and how we express ourselves to others. They control our thinking, dreaming and communicating. The Upper Chakras also govern the relationship between our mind and body.

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head; controls consciousness and all the processes of the mind and body. In the body it also governs the pineal gland and upper brain.
The Third Eye (also known as the Brow Chakra) is located on the brow and controls psychic ability and mental process. In the body is governs the pituitary gland, the lower brain, the eyes, nose and nervous system.
The Throat Chakra, located at the throat, controls dreams, the voice and active power. In the body it governs the sense of hearing, the thyroid gland, the lungs and voice.

Our spirits grow weary and tired when the Upper Chakras are under-stimulated, we tend to ‘dream’ more, and achieve - less. Our sense of realistically achieving our goals becomes jaded.

Heart Chakra
The Heart Chakra, brings balance to all the Chakras by acting as the central meeting point of the Upper three Chakras (mental and perspective processes), and the Lower three Chakras (feeling processes).

The Heart Chakra, located at the heart, balances and directs all energies within the body, via energy channels called Nadis (translation – ‘flowing water’). In the body it governs the thymus gland, the heart, blood and circulatory system.

It is the centre of love and being, and the source of harmony, and if under-stimulated we feel unloved, by ourselves and others. The Heart Chakra also governs your sense of touch, such as when you are ‘in touch’ with someone or something.

Lower Chakra
The Lower Chakras deal with our feelings, instinctive and emotional behaviour, sexuality and sensuality. They are the ‘body’ Chakras, concerned with your well being through digestion, sex, social interaction, and daily routines.

The Stomach Chakra (also known as the Solar Plexus) is located below the breastbone and controls interaction with your environment, digestive processes and your emotions. In the body it governs the pancreas, the stomach, the liver, the diaphragm, the adrenals and the nervous system.

The Sacral Chakra (also known as the Navel Chakra) is located just below the naval, controls creativity (procreation), nurturing, sexuality, sensuality and change. In the body it governs taste, ovaries and testicles, spinal column, womb, bladder and kidneys.

The Base Chakra (also known as the Root Chakra) is located at the base of the spine and controls instinct, survival, pleasure and base sexuality. In the body it governs smell, the gonads and adrenal glands, the excretory system, bones, teeth, nails and hair.

The Lower Chakras are the ones that enable basic needs to be met. Our self esteem is affected when the Lower Chakras are under-stimulated, and attention is not paid to the needs of the body to remain healthy and motivated.


© Copyright Jan Reid-Lennox. All Rights Reserved.